• SPECIAL EDUCATION / STUDENT SERVICES (SESS)


    SESS Logo  

    We are committed to provide quality services to students with extraordinary

    challenges thus affording at-risk students full access to the PALMDALE PROMISE

    including a rigorous education and a rich social experience, whether these

    barriers are caused by health, disability, academic or behavioral difficulties.

     

    Palmdale School District provides a full range of services to “at risk” and “special needs” students. The SESS Division provides direct services and support at every school site. Some students requiring more intensive support, may need to attend a campus outside their neighborhood.

    SESS provides services and programs through preschool, special education, and alternative education. We support and serve students and families through a wide range of educational professionals, including: highly qualified teachers, nurses, program specialists, counselors, psychologists, speech and language pathologists, occupational therapists, para educators, principals, and other management and clerical support staff.

    The mission of SESS is to give students and families the support and services to help them reach maximum potential. This includes early identification of needs and early intervention (Response To Intervention – RTI) – fostering positive school attendance and connectiveness to school, concern for physical, social and emotional growth, access to community agencies, cultural tolerance and understanding and parent involvement.

Name Title Email Address
ADMINISTRATION - 661.789.6745
John Porter, Ed.D. Assistant Superintendent jcporter@palmdalesd.org
Danielle Handrich Executive Assistant dkhandrich@palmdalesd.org
.
SPECIAL EDUCATION - 661.789.6746
Julie Elliott-Braswell, M.A. Director of Special Education jaelliott@palmdalesd.org
Rosa Armstrong Administrative Secretary rmarmstrong@palmdalesd.org
John Corugedo, M.A. Program Specialist I - Mild/Moderate jccorugedo@palmdalesd.org
Irene Orloff, M.A. Program Specialist II - Disabilities/Medically Fragile inorloff@palmdalesd.org
Aaron Yoscovitz, M.A. Program Specialist I - Mental Health/Foster Ed/Homeless Liaison ayoscovitz@palmdalesd.org
Jamie Ross, Aud.D. Program Specialist I - Audiologist/DHH jmross@palmdalesd.org
Emily Moran, M.A. Program Specialist I - Mild/Moderate egmoran@palmdalesd.org
.
STUDENT SERVICES - 661.789.6744
Mike Perkins Director of Student Services mwperkins@palmdalesd.org
Joyce Swift Student Services Information Supervisor - Welcome and Enrollment Center jaswift@palmdalesd.org
Lisa Reasoner Administrative Secretary lareasoner@palmdalesd.org
.
HEALTH SERVICES - 661.789.6718
Julie Ferebee Director of Health Services jlferebee@palmdalesd.org
Amanda Alvarado Administrative Secretary ajalvarado@palmdalesd.org
.
YELLEN LEARNING CENTER - 661.456.1600
Linda Jaramillo Principal lmjaramillo@palmdalesd.org
Lynn Williams School Secretary ldwilliams@palmdalesd.org